Modemsite's Forum56 - The Modem Board
Main | profile | register | search | help | Ad-free Login
Forums | Conexant (Public) | Cendyne external (Amigo -- Conexant ACF) modem craps out during connection    Watch  
Author Topic
Pickngrin
Tl Posts:
3

USA
Posted - 4/26/2004 7:55:14 PM  Show Profile  Email Poster  Edit Message
Hi - I'm brand new to the forum and wonder if anyone can advise me on this problem:
I have a Cendyne external 56K RS-232 (made by Amigo, apparently, and has Conexant ACF chipset), and I'm running Windows XP Home. The problem is that while I can usually get online in 1 or 2 dial attempts, after awhile (varying lengths of time, but it happens within 20 minutes sometimes), my connection sort of "craps out", in that web pages no longer load (the page not found error), my Outlook doesn't always continue to successfully access my ISP's mail server. I don't think it's an ISP issue because I tested with a few other ISPs (just brief trials on their demos). I'm baffled and wonder if there is a firmware upgrade that may fix the problem...or...some other solution?

Thanks!

v.Richard
Tl Posts:
6222

USA
Posted - 4/30/2004 1:53:46 PM  Show Profile  Email Poster  Edit Message  v.Richards Homepage
First - at the time this happens, check whether you have any connectivity using ping/tracert, etc. and IP addresses - see
www.modemsite.com/56k/backbone.asp

Does this PC has a network card (NIC) and is it connected to any sort of local network? If there is a NIC and it is not being used, disable it in ControlPanel/System/Hardware-Device Manager.
www.modemsite.com/56k/nic.asp

Aloha! Richard.

Pickngrin
Tl Posts:
3

USA
Posted - 4/30/2004 7:01:36 PM  Show Profile  Email Poster  Edit Message
Thanks so much for the reply. I downloaded NetMedic, but my "average throughput" had been steadily increasing..and is now 12024 bps (at 44.0K). Is something wrong with that picture? The information on that page is a bit confusing to me. I see that my average rate dropped from 44.8kbps to 26.0kbps, and is now back up...

I disabled the onboard network card....


Edited by - pickngrin on 4/30/2004 7:12:16 PM

mainbuss
Tl Posts:
145

USA
Posted - 5/28/2004 3:52:54 AM  Show Profile  Email Poster  Edit Message

Edited by - mainbuss on 7/10/2004 10:32:27 PM
Pickngrin
Tl Posts:
3

USA
Posted - 5/28/2004 3:51:44 PM  Show Profile  Email Poster  Edit Message
Thanks for your reply. I downloaded that driver (for XP), which it turns out is the same version I have. However, I do not know how to upgrade the firmware (mine is older than 1.7). Is there another place that I need to download the FW?

thanks

mainbuss
Tl Posts:
145

USA
Posted - 5/29/2004 9:45:56 AM  Show Profile  Email Poster  Edit Message

Edited by - mainbuss on 7/10/2004 10:32:43 PM

Click Here To Close Thread, Administrators & Moderators Only.

Show All Forums |