Modemsite's Forum56 - The Modem Board
Main | profile | register | search | help | Ad-free Login
Forums | Agere (Public) | Agere Soft Modem can't adjust volume    Watch  
Author Topic
Tl Posts:

Posted - 3/28/2005 3:20:35 PM  Show Profile  Email Poster  Edit Message
I have an Agere Soft Modem with Win XP home edition. I have cable internet, so the network connections options for selecting/adjusting modem options aren't a factor. I have done everything in this link to adjust my volume:

I only use the modem to send or receive a fax with WinXP Fax Console. My status is this:
1. When I SEND a fax, I get no dial tone, no dialing beeps, no handshake sounds - nothing.
2. When I RECEIVE a phone call (fax OR NOT), I hear the phone ringing on my PC speakers.

This is EXACTLY OPPOSITE of what I would want. I want to leave Fax Console set up to RECEIVE faxes manually, but I don't want to hear the phone ringing on my PC speakers. And I DO want to hear everything on an outgoing fax. However, I'm sure I can't have what I really want (God forbid THAT), so I'd gladly SETTLE for NO SOUND AT ALL from the modem.

The slider bar in Modem properties does NOTHING, and the extra Init string AT M0 also does NOTHING to change my status. Interestingly, the AT M0 command works perfectly in Hyperterminal, and the Ring command is recognized without a sound.

I don't have an option for 'phone' on my volume control menu.

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks, Ken

Tl Posts:

Posted - 3/28/2005 5:00:23 PM  Show Profile  Email Poster  Edit Message  v.Richards Homepage
Volume Control ->: Options -> Properties - there should be a checkbox for phone which you should be able to check & then have volume control for phone.

What software are you using for fax?
It would seem to me that the fax app you are using is over-riding any settings/inits you are using.
If you still have trouble, try posting your modemlog and I'll try and see if there's anything there that might help.

Aloha! Richard.

Tl Posts:

Posted - 3/28/2005 6:15:02 PM  Show Profile  Email Poster  Edit Message
Hi Richard, Thanks for the prompt reply. I don't have an option for 'phone' on my volume control menu.

I'm using WinXP Home Ed SP-2 built-in Fax Console. It has no options at all for modem volume or string settings.

This is my modem log - the last section is the response from a query.

03-28-2005 20:08:25.828 - 115200,8,N,1, ctsfl=1, rtsctl=2
03-28-2005 20:08:25.828 - Initializing modem.
03-28-2005 20:08:25.843 - Send: AT<cr>
03-28-2005 20:08:26.046 - Recv: <cr><lf>OK<cr><lf>
03-28-2005 20:08:26.046 - Interpreted response: OK
03-28-2005 20:08:26.062 - Send: AT &F E0 &C1 &D2 V1 S0=0\V1<cr>
03-28-2005 20:08:26.062 - Recv: <cr><lf>OK<cr><lf>
03-28-2005 20:08:26.062 - Interpreted response: OK
03-28-2005 20:08:26.078 - Send: ATS7=60S30=0L0M0\N3%C1&K3B0B15B2X4<cr>
03-28-2005 20:08:26.078 - Recv: <cr><lf>OK<cr><lf>
03-28-2005 20:08:26.078 - Interpreted response: OK
03-28-2005 20:08:26.078 - Sending user initialization commands.
03-28-2005 20:08:26.093 - Send: at m0<cr>
03-28-2005 20:08:26.093 - Recv: <cr><lf>OK<cr><lf>
03-28-2005 20:08:26.093 - Interpreted response: OK
03-28-2005 20:08:26.093 - Waiting for a call.
03-28-2005 20:08:26.109 - Send: ATS0=0<cr>
03-28-2005 20:08:26.109 - Recv: <cr><lf>OK<cr><lf>
03-28-2005 20:08:26.109 - Interpreted response: OK
03-28-2005 20:08:54.218 - Recv: <cr><lf>RING<cr><lf>
03-28-2005 20:08:54.218 - Interpreted response: Ring
03-28-2005 20:08:54.234 - TSP(0000): LINEEVENT: LINE_NEWCALL
03-28-2005 20:08:54.234 - TSP(0000): LINEEVENT: LINECALLSTATE_OFFERING
03-28-2005 20:08:54.234 - TSP(0000): LINEEVENT: LINEDEVSTATE_RINGING(0x1)
03-28-2005 20:09:06.234 - TSP(0000): LINEEVENT: LINECALLSTATE_IDLE
03-28-2005 20:09:06.234 - TSP(0000): Closing Call
03-28-2005 20:09:23.328 - Session Statistics:
03-28-2005 20:09:23.328 - Reads : 38 bytes
03-28-2005 20:09:23.328 - Writes: 0 bytes


AT+GMM - H.324 video-ready rev. 1.0
AT+FCLASS=? - 0,1,8
AT+GCI=? - +GCI:(00,04,07,09,0A,0D,0F,14,16,19,1B,20,25,26,27,2B,2D,2E,31,33,35,36,37,3C,3D,46,49,4F,50,51,52,53,54,57,58,59,5E,61,62,64,68,69,6C,70,73,77,7B,7E,7F,82,83,84,85,87,88,89,8A,8B,8C,8E,98,9C,9F,A0,A1,A5,A6,A9,AE,B2,B3,B4,B5,B7,B8,BB,BC,C1)
ATI3 - Agere SoftModem Version 2.1.12
ATI4 - Built on 04/19/2002 12:17:59
ATI5 - 2.1.12, PCI, Perseus, 19

Thank you!

Tl Posts:

Posted - 3/29/2005 12:27:04 PM  Show Profile  Email Poster  Edit Message  v.Richards Homepage
Suggest you update your modem driver - you are using version 2.1.12 - the latest driver is not at 2.1.51 (while every .x version is not released to the public, there are 39 driver revisions since the one you are using.)

The .51 driver is available from Modemsite (with Premium Access subscription) -
and may also be available from Microsoft Windows Update.

Aloha! Richard.

Tl Posts:

Posted - 4/1/2005 12:39:37 PM  Show Profile  Email Poster  Edit Message
I already have Driver version 2.1.51 installed, despite what the modem log says.

It's listed in Device manager, under Modem Properties, driver version dated 3/04/2005, gotten from Windows Update at MS. It's this version ( that produces these unwanted results. BTW these results are unchanged from the previous version of the driver (

Any other suggestions?

Thanks, Ken

Tl Posts:

Posted - 4/3/2005 2:09:12 PM  Show Profile  Email Poster  Edit Message  v.Richards Homepage
If the modem does not return 2.1.51 in response to ati3, the .51 driver is NOT installed/in use despite what everything else says.
In which case, you should run
to remove the modem, and re-install the 2.51 driver.

Aloha! Richard.

Tl Posts:

Posted - 4/7/2005 3:12:09 PM  Show Profile  Email Poster  Edit Message
You have the same problem I do. You can't use a dial up modem in XP if you have a cable net connection.

I'm still looking for a fix.

Click Here To Close Thread, Administrators & Moderators Only.

Show All Forums |