Modemsite's Forum56 - The Modem Board
Main | profile | register | search | help | Ad-free Login
Forums | Other (Public) | Hayes command for modem FM56-PX    Watch  
Author Topic
gb04
Tl Posts:
7

USA
Posted - 11/18/2004 5:18:55 PM  Show Profile  Email Poster  Edit Message
Hi all,

I wonder if someone can help me with the Hayes command set?
Currently I have Aopen Model FM56-PX voice modem. I tried to make a call from PC by using hyperterminal. My problem here is that after issueing the ATD1234567, I got the connection with the phone line ( message return OK) but I could not transmit voice over the microphone. Is there any AT command that I need to type in to enable the microphone? or do I need to set up the other command for voice operation before making a call?
Any suggestion will be appreciated

v.Richard
Tl Posts:
6222

USA
Posted - 11/18/2004 11:23:17 PM  Show Profile  Email Poster  Edit Message  v.Richards Homepage
A voice modem doesn't mean you can use the modem to make or receive voice calls using modem and computer sound card in place of a telephone.
A voice modem is one which can be used as a TAM (telephone answering machine) device with appropriate software.

A speakerphone modem can be used in place of a telephone - however, the speakerphone modem will have separate audio connectors for the mic&speaker (or headset) and doesn't require the PC sound card.
www.modemsite.com/56k/voice.asp

The command set for your modem (including voice & speakerphone command sections) is at:
ftp://ftp.aopen.com/pub/manual/modem/conexant%20at%20cmds_released.pdf
(These aren't 'Hayes' commands - they're Conexant's).

Aloha! Richard.

Edited by - v.Richard on 11/18/2004 11:34:51 PM

gb04
Tl Posts:
7

USA
Posted - 11/22/2004 12:10:12 PM  Show Profile  Email Poster  Edit Message
Thank you Richard for your feed back and sources of information. You are right the modem uses the Conexant command which is similar to Hayes command set. My modem does have the the speakerphone and the MIC built in. I used the Faxtalk communication software provided along with the modem to dial a number and it has been working well. However, I just want to develop a VB code to establish a dial only. It is like public announcement by using the Hyperterminal to issue the command. The conexant manual did not show the example of calling sequence. So far I have no luck with the MIC and still try to figure out what other command I need to type in. IF you happen to have other souces of information, please share it with me
Pi
Tl Posts:
89

USA
Posted - 11/22/2004 2:50:39 PM  Show Profile  Email Poster  Edit Message
Using the "command set for your modem" vRichard provided familiarize yourself with "dial modifiers".

This article will help you learn dial strings and dial modifiers.
The most important thing to learn from it is how to drop the modem into command mode after dialing.
When in command mode you can send AT commands to the modem to configure it.
"Controlling your Modem with AT Commands"
http://www.zoltrix.com/support_html/modem/USEMODEM.HTM

Possible dial strings using hyperterminal;
ATE1 (ECHO)
ATDT5555555; (dial, tone dial) (phone number) (; modem returns to the Command Mode after dialing)
AT+VSP=0 (speakerphone OFF default)
AT+VSP=1 (speakerphone ON )
AT+VDX=1 (speakerphone is full duplex)
Edited by - Pi on 11/22/2004 7:51:18 PM

Pi
Tl Posts:
89

USA
Posted - 11/23/2004 5:10:06 AM  Show Profile  Email Poster  Edit Message
P/S

http://www.tek-tips.com/viewthread.cfm?qid=32972
If the mic works on your sound card but not on the modems mic port you will need to adjust the mic GAIN for the port when configuring the modem in hyperterminal.
Details are in the AT commands for your modem.

+VGM= .
Range is 0 to 255, default 64
+VGM?
reports current value
+VGM=?
reports range of value

The sperkerphone mode has to be set first before you can adjust the mic GAIN
ATE1 (ECHO)
ATDT5555555; (dial, tone dial) (phone number) (; modem returns to the Command Mode after dialing)
AT+VDX=1 (speakerphone is full duplex)
AT+VGM=100

There are also settings for speaker GAIN
+VGS=

gb04
Tl Posts:
7

USA
Posted - 11/23/2004 12:58:53 PM  Show Profile  Email Poster  Edit Message
Thanks a lot for your information PI. Your source of information and the dial string seems to be helpful. I am going to try your dial strings first and see how my modem acts. I will post the result as soon as I can.
gb04
Tl Posts:
7

USA
Posted - 11/24/2004 1:09:13 PM  Show Profile  Email Poster  Edit Message
I have tried the dial strings as follow:

AT+FCLASS=8
OK
AT+VDX=1
OK
AT+VSP=1
OK
AT+VGM=200
OK
ATDT1234567; <Phone number>
OK

I am still not be able to transmit voice to the remote phone system. After issuing the dial command, I got the message return "OK". Do I expect to see "CONNECT" ?
All I got so far is just the voice transmits back from the remote phone to the PC speaker (on the Modem speaker port)
Below is the Active profile I got

ACTIVE PROFILE:
E0 L1 M1 Q0 T V1 X4 &C1 &D2 &G0 &T0 &P0
S00:000 S01:000 S02:043 S03:013 S04:010 S05:008 S06:002 S07:060 S08:002
S10:014 S12:050 S16:000 S18:000 S29:070

STORED PROFILE 0:
E1 L1 M1 Q0 T V1 X4 &C1 &D2 &G0 &T0 &P0
S00:000 S02:043 S06:004 S07:050 S08:002 S10:060 S12:050 S18:000 S28:000
S29:000

Am I missing any setup here? Any thoughts?
Thanks

v.Richard
Tl Posts:
6222

USA
Posted - 11/24/2004 10:02:01 PM  Show Profile  Email Poster  Edit Message  v.Richards Homepage
On voice (and with the ; back to command mode termination), there will be no result response from the modem; however, when the call is answered and the speaker gives you audio, the mic should also be 'live'.

Aloha! Richard.

Pi
Tl Posts:
89

USA
Posted - 11/24/2004 10:42:15 PM  Show Profile  Email Poster  Edit Message
First I don't own an Aopen speakerphone modem to experiment on so I'm doing this by ear, sort of.
I looked deeper into this (AT commands) for the Aopen Model FM56-PX voice modem. You will have to experiment with it as I can't.

In the AT command manual find the +VLS section page 6-11 VLS "Voice Line Select"
+VLS= "Analog Source / Destination Selection."
Next look over the "6-5 Table +VLS Command Options" on page 6-12.

Using the "6-5 Table +VLS Command Options" it appears the a +VLS option needs to be set.
Internal mic and speaker, external mic and speaker or any combination can be set including "handset" (phone connected to the extension jack on the modem).

It appears the +VSP=1 by default enables the "internal" modem speaker and mic. I know of no * modern modems that have internal mic so that may be used when the modem has a internal TAD connector and jumpers the mic and speaker to the sound card. Modern modem speakers are not made for voice.
This may be why the mic is not working for you. Using the +VLS= command you will need to tell the modem to use the "external" mic and speaker

Also I think +VSP=1 enables HALF DUPLEX speakerphone by default making the +VTX (voice transmit) +VRX (voice receive) commands necessary to flip / flop between, mic ON speaker OFF, mic OFF speaker ON. So setting +VSP=1 then setting +VDX=1 (full duplex) would eliminate the TX, RX commands.

Hum, getting complicated.

Using hyperterminal issue the +VLS=? to list the modems supported +VLS= options.
Depending on what "LABEL" is used from "6-5 Table +VLS Command Options" that your modem supports.
The "6-5 Table +VLS Command Options" indicates half duplex operation when the +VTX (voice transmit) +VRX (voice receive) have an "X" listed, and will need to be used.
Also note the "H" used in the "Primitives" column indicating Handset or Headset operation. (telephone on the modems extension jack).
AT+VLS=13; chart indicates that AT+VLS=1 has to be set and +VTR and +VRX are not needed. So I am not sure if AT+VDX=1 (full duplex) will be needed or not when using the +VLS= command.

Note, try reversing these two; Not sure of the load order.
AT+VLS=13
AT+VSP=1

AT+VSP=1
AT+VLS=13

So here we go, again; you will have to experiment.

Strings to try;

AT+FCLASS=8
AT+VLS=13
AT+VSP=1
AT+VGM=200

Or
AT+FCLASS=8
AT+VSP=1
AT+VLS=13
AT+VGM=200

Or

AT+FCLASS=8
AT+VLS=19
AT+VSP=1
AT+VGM=200

Or

AT+FCLASS=8
AT+VSP=1
AT+VLS=19
AT+VGM=200

Or

AT+FCLASS=8
AT+VLS=13 or 19
AT+VSP=1
AT+VDX=1
AT+VGM=200

Something I find confusing in this chart. Speaker and mic connected to the line or the DCE
When connected to the line AT+VLS=13 (connected to the line) is AT+FCLASS=8 needed? Not sure.
Or is it only need if the AT+VLS=19 (connected to the DEC). Again not sure.
If AT+FCLASS=8 is set, an Analog to digital conversion takes place by the modem
If using the AT+VLS=13 (connected to the line) is (AT+FCLASS=8) A/D conversion needed?

I'm thinking that (AT+FCLASS=8) is only needed when TAM (Telephone Answering Machine) software is used (in Windows) and A/D conversion is used to write WAV out put to a file. Mics are used with TAM software to record announcements for the answering machine.
If the modem is used as a simple speakerphone and a +VLS= is used that connects the mic and speaker to the LINE not the DCE the (AT+FCLASS=8) A/D conversion is not (or may not be) needed.

AT+VLS=13 or 19
AT+VSP=1
AT+VDX=1
AT+VGM=200

Or

AT+VLS=13 or 19
AT+VSP=1
AT+VGM=200

ALso some of the AT+VLS= commands (AT+VLS=13 connected to line) take the DCE "off hook" so I thank you need to Dial the number first then drop the modem in to command mode ";" then configure the modem for speakerphone.
AT+VLS=19 (connected to DCE) does not state the DCE goes off hook so you should be able to issue that command before dialing.

Sorry I can't be more help. Without an Aopen modem to experiment on this is the best I can do. And it gets complicated very fast.
Good luck and let us know if you get it working and the string used.

P/S
----------------
I have tried the dial strings as follow:

AT+FCLASS=8
OK
AT+VDX=1
OK
AT+VSP=1
OK
AT+VGM=200
OK
ATDT1234567; <Phone number>
OK
----------------

If your issuing the AT commands "before" dialing you don't need the ; after dialing. The modem is already configured for Speakerphone.

* Some older external modems had mics.
Edited by - Pi on 11/25/2004 3:24:06 AM

gb04
Tl Posts:
7

USA
Posted - 11/25/2004 10:40:20 PM  Show Profile  Email Poster  Edit Message
Thanks again for your feedbacks, Richard and PI.
I am really appreciated for your times and suggestions.

You are right PI! The more I read the manual, the more confusion I have. It gets complicated how to setup a dial sequences. I assume when phone line is connected and speaker gives audio, the MIC is supposed to be "Live" as Richard mentioned. Apparently, it is not a simple as we thought.

I will try PI's suggested dial strings and let both of you know the result soon. Just to let PI know that any speaker setup command sets or voice command sets entered after issuing "ATDT1234567;" has an "ERROR" message return.
As I have been experimenting with this modem, I notice that the modem does not like to have the setup commands configurated after the dial commmand is being issued. After issuing the dial command plus ";", I am only able to check the status of registers or execute the command hang up (ATH).

One more thing, would you think whether or not my sound card need to be disabled while using the voice modem? Since both the soundcard and the modem have MIC and speaker ports, do I need to disable one or another? I could not remove the sound card completly becasue it was built in the mother board.

Have a great Thanksgiving everyone!!!

Pi
Tl Posts:
89

USA
Posted - 11/27/2004 10:36:06 PM  Show Profile  Email Poster  Edit Message
You should not have to disable the sound card for the modems speakerphone to work.

I agree with vRiichard, you, the consumer should only have to set the speakerphone mode for it to work (AT+VSP=1 AT+VDX=1).
Modem chipset makers supply modem manufacturers with generic driver that can be configured to how the modem and its features are made.
Programing tools are supplied to modem manufacturers so the default setting can be set to match how the modem was made.
The driver is then recompiled and supplied to the consumer. The default for this modem should be external mic and speaker.

"All I got so far is just the voice transmits back from the remote phone to the PC speaker (on the Modem speaker port)"

Are you hearing sound from a speaker plugged into the modems speaker jack or from the small speaker on the modem itself?

Sound can not be coming from the "motherboard" PC speaker. If its coming from the modems internal speaker this indicates the default AT+VSP= setting is incorrect for this modem. If sound is coming from a speaker connected to the modems external speaker jack the default settings may be correct and the problem may be with the microphone and how the phone plug is wired.

Computer "sound card mics" are strange devices. They produce mono output but "require" a stereo phone plug to work with sound cards. To use a mic on a sound card it has to be a "COMPUTER MIC".
This modems mic port might be designed for a more conventional mic used with a tape recorder 1/8 inch MONO phone plug.
http://www.homerecording.com/sound_card_basics.html
"""It's designed specifically for computer mics"""

I found a Zoltrix USB modem Users Manual that states only mics with 2 wire 1/8 inch MONO plug should be used. SO maybe computer mics don't work with modem mic external mic ports.
http://www.zoltrix.com/PUBLIC2/MODEM/manuals/TomCat.pdf

* As I said there were some old Rockwell hardware external modems that had mics on the PCB and the modem external box was a speakerphone itself. A default setting of internal mic and speaker would work in that case. It seems the Aopen Model FM56-PX inherited a default setting the is incorrect for ANY internal modem. An oversight or lack for attention for detail, who knows.

Also the AT+VLS= options for the modem driver are the most complicated I have seen. Older drivers and the AT command manuals for them only list 6 options not 19 as this driver.

Many Windows based TAM (Telephone Answering Machine) programs include a speakerphone option for modems that support it.
There are freeware and demos of commercial software that you could try out with this modem. With a speaker and mic connected to the modems external ports see if you can get speakerphone working with one of these programs . Sound from the external speaker and mic working plugged into the modems external jack.
If you find one that works with this modem shut down the speakerphone program and then check the modem log for this modem .
The AT commands (and the order they were sent) that the Windows program sent to the modem should have been logged. You can duplicate the same commands in hyperterminal to get speakerphone working .


http://www.imptec.com/modems.htm

*
http://www.embeddedlogic.com/TH99/t/E-H/53716.htm
http://www.embeddedlogic.com/TH99/t/E-H/53171.htm
Edited by - Pi on 11/28/2004 1:54:18 AM

gb04
Tl Posts:
7

USA
Posted - 11/29/2004 5:24:41 PM  Show Profile  Email Poster  Edit Message
Hi Everyone,
I had modem set PI's strings as follow:

AT+FCLASS=8
AT+VLS=13
AT+VSP=1
AT+VGM=200
or

AT+FCLASS=8
AT+VSP=1
AT+VLS=13
AT+VGM=200
or

AT+FCLASS=8
AT+VLS=13
AT+VSP=1
AT+VDX=1
AT+VGM=200

Unfortunately, I am still not be able to get the MIC work. I was no tbe able to try label 19 because the modem does not support this label number.

"Also the AT+VLS= options for the modem driver are the most complicated I have seen. Older drivers and the AT command manuals for them only list 6 options not 19 as this driver."
You are right. This modem driver has a long list of the AT+VLS command options. For som ereason, the modem does not support Label#2 and after #15

AT+VLS=?,
0,"",10000000,00000000,00000000 1,"T",08841900,0C841800,0B84386D 3,"LT",00000000,00000000,00000000 4,"S",10000000,10000000,10000000 5,"ST",08841900,0C841800,0B84386D 6,"M",10000000,10000000,10000000 7,"MST",08841900,0C841800,0B84386D 8,"S1",10000000,10000000,10000000 9,"S1T",08841900,0C841800,0B84386D 10,"MS1T",08841900,0C841800,0B84386D 11,"M1",10000000,10000000,10000000 12,"M1ST",08841900,0C841800,0B84386D 13,"M1S1T",08841900,0C841800,0B84386D 14,"H",10000000,10000000,10000000
15,"HT",08841900,0C841800,0B84386D

Here are few information thay you may be interested in because you don't have the Aopen modem to experiment with.

"When connected to the line AT+VLS=13 (connected to the line) is AT+FCLASS=8 needed? Not sure."
The AT+FCLASS=8 command must be inserted before the +VLS command is issued. Otherwise the return message displays "ERROR". Anotherword, before dialing or after hang up, the AT+FCLASS=8 must be entered.

"Are you hearing sound from a speaker plugged into the modems speaker jack or from the small speaker on the modem itself?
Yes, Sound comes from the speaker plugged into the modem external speaker jack.

"Sound can not be coming from the "motherboard" PC speaker. If its coming from the modems internal speaker this indicates the default AT+VSP= setting is incorrect for this modem. If sound is coming from a speaker connected to the modems external speaker jack the default settings may be correct and the problem may be with the microphone and how the phone plug is wired."
Again sound is coming from the speakers that plugged into the modem external speaker jack. The phone plug and microphone also work fine when the Faxtalk Communicatorsoftware runs (Faxtalk Communicator is a software provided along with modem. I use it as a test software to make sure phone, microphone , and speaker work)

What would you think about the setting of the voice command? would I need them setup too? Any thoughts?

gb04
Tl Posts:
7

USA
Posted - 11/30/2004 9:40:23 AM  Show Profile  Email Poster  Edit Message
Everyone!!! I finally got the MIC work :)

Based on PI's provided Strings, I did some experiments again and only got it work when change the command option order. The commmand option AT+VLS=13 is the primary key to enable the MIC only after the ATD command is issued.

Here are the strings that has been tested and working well

AF+FCLASS=8
AT+VIP (THIS COMMAND TO INITIALIZE VOICE PARAMETERS TO DEFAULT VALUES. THE SEQUENCE STILL WORKS WIHOUT THIS COMMAND)
AT+VSP=1
ATD"1234567";
AT+VLS=13

I don't think the command AT+VDX is neccessary. It may already set as default values.

Special thanks to PI for your time, sources of information and your analysis. Since you don't have the modem to play with, it is hard to tell the result. I am appreciated for your help and Richard's.

BTW the first tough part is solved, the second part is on the way. How could I possibly send the wave file to the remote phone system? I read some of related articles and likely the wave file needs to be converted. Any suggestion?

Click Here To Close Thread, Administrators & Moderators Only.

Show All Forums |